Navigation:   Home  >>  Forums

Go Back   Photoshopchop.com > HOW TO'S > TUTORIALS

Notices

TUTORIALS The best place around to find some good tips and tricks from the members of PSC.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2003, 11:45 PM   #1
MRWILDE
 
MRWILDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Canada - Smack in the middle.
Posts: 2,174
MRWILDE is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

First take the pic that you want to put the decal on. In this case I have chosen a Ford Mustang.

Now select the channels tab and select the channel that has the best white to black contrast. In the case of the MUSTANG it is the GREEN channel

Next right click the channel and choose "duplicate channel".

The duplicate channel window will then pop up. From the Document window choose NEW.

Then another Duplicate channel window will pop up. Leave it as is or give it a new name and click ok.

You will then have an entirely new image appear. It is of course the channel that we selected.

Now you will save the new image as we will be using it later as our displacement map. Call it whatever you want. In this case I called it "decalcopy" and saved it in a place that I could easily access it. Make sure the file is saved as a PSD "photoshop file"

Next, go back to your original image that you were working on and click on RBG on the channel tab. That will take the image back to its natural color.

You will now open up the image or "decal" that you want to put on the vehicle. In this case I took the FORD MOTOR COMPANIES logo and moved it into the position that I wanted it to fit onto the hood of the car.

Now choose FILTER/DISTORT/DISPLACE

The displace window will then pop up. Use the values that I have in the window and click on OK.

Another window will pop up asking you for the location of your displacement map. This is where you will select the file that you saved earlier and click OK.

You will now have your displacement image of the logo. It will not look quite right yet. You will need to change the layer to OVERLAY and add an inner shadow as well. If the image is way too light you may wish to copy the logo layer. In the case of this image I did just that and added an inner shadow to one of the logo layers. Some will look better than others. Do not get frustrated. This takes a little bit of practice at first until you get the hang of it.


If anyone needs any questions ans
wered about this tutorial please feel free to Private Message me.



Last edited by admin at May 25 2003, 02:37 AM
__________________
MRWILDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 12:02 PM   #2
spoon
PSC MEMBER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 70
spoon is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

i cant find overlay where
spoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2003, 09:59 AM   #3
de-koeleman
PSC NOOB
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
de-koeleman is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

How does it work wit Jasc Paintshop pro I can't ctrl+V, if I do that I'll get a wole new screen
de-koeleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2003, 01:08 PM   #4
briandyche
PSC 1000 POSTS MEMBER
 
briandyche's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 2,180
briandyche is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to briandyche Send a message via Yahoo to briandyche
Default

try ctrl+L for a new layer or just ctrl+E for a new selection
__________________

briandyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 06:29 PM   #5
spoon
PSC MEMBER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 70
spoon is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

if i take channel my picture stays in the color i select if i select green i get a green picture end no gray what do i wrong
spoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2003, 11:07 AM   #6
nicks10
PSC NOOB
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 20
nicks10 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Dude, i cant figure it out, it doesn't displace right. The graphic get blured and all meessed up, nothing like yours. Any suggestions??
__________________
My nick name is showtime, that is tellin you something.
nicks10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 03:10 AM   #7
hav_lova
3000 AND CLIMBING
 
hav_lova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: sydney
Posts: 3,234
hav_lova is on a distinguished road

Awards Showcase
Forum Lurker 
Total Awards: 1

Send a message via MSN to hav_lova
Default

yea mine gets all messed up too and i follow the steps exactly
__________________

"You'll never be late in a 308, but you'll have more fun in a 351"
Lindsay Lohan is so hot! V8 king is dreaming... And she gives fattie "WoOdS" Go figure.....
Quote:
I like to fart in the bathtub and turn around and bite the bubbles...
hav_lova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 03:44 AM   #8
nRo
PSC PRO MEMBER
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 164
nRo is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to nRo
Default

please fix this...
__________________
nRo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2003, 08:46 PM   #9
greeko
PSC NOOB
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
greeko is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

oi man how i add an inner shadow

i got a black decal n if i set it 2 overlay its 2 light

good job though i jus need 2 practice
greeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 02:37 PM   #10
SuperFly
PSC NOOB
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
SuperFly is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Hmm... same problem here, gets all messed up, yet I follow the instructions exactly.

http://www.zone.ee/ruulerid/logo.gif
http://www.zone.ee/ruulerid/mess.jpg



Last edited by SuperFly at Dec 7 2003, 01:38 PM
SuperFly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 06:47 PM   #11
King of the Stone Age
PSC NOOB
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
King of the Stone Age is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

How do you add SMALL logos on the side.
I don't want them to blend in.
I just want a logo.
could someone do a tut?
King of the Stone Age is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2003, 12:55 AM   #12
fast_cars
PSC NOOB
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 17
fast_cars is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

i cant find display-->distort--> thing
i go to my filter section.
there is no option like that.
can anyone help me with that??
fast_cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 07:48 AM   #13
dreamv2.0
3000 AND CLIMBING
 
dreamv2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 3,213
dreamv2.0 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to dreamv2.0 Send a message via MSN to dreamv2.0
Default

its not in filters its in edit /transform/distort
dreamv2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2004, 01:39 AM   #14
joemomma95
Me love you long time
 
joemomma95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,195
joemomma95 is on a distinguished road

Awards Showcase
Net Nazi 
Total Awards: 1

Send a message via AIM to joemomma95
Default

Also see this other Decal Tutorial for a different approach...

http://photoshopchop.com/forums/inde...showtopic=8475 by Florian Wunsch
__________________

[/CENTER]

Carty was here
joemomma95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Motherboard I/O Back Plate Shield For GA-M68M-S2P
$6.99
Motherboard I/O Back Plate Shield For GA-M68M-S2P  picture1PC Original SICK KT5W-2N1113 1016630 Colour mark sensor#SS
$368.0
1PC Original SICK KT5W-2N1113 1016630 Colour mark sensor#SS pictureASUS MG248QR motherboard
$31.0
ASUS MG248QR motherboard picture1PC used NORD inverter panel D-22941 SK TU3-PAR 275900100
$324.0
1PC used NORD inverter panel D-22941 SK TU3-PAR 275900100 picture



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All rights reserved 2002-2008 Photoshopchop.com