Navigation:   Home  >>  Forums

Go Back   Photoshopchop.com > PHOTO CHOPS > 3D RENDERING

Notices

3D RENDERING Been doing some 3D work and want to show it off? Put it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2005, 10:13 PM   #1
brasher
*****
 
brasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,654
brasher is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to brasher
Default iRiver MP3 player dock

This morning while there was no work to be done I designed this cool little dock for my iRiver Mp3 player, Emailed the Cad file down to my mate in the machine room and by lunchtime this baby will be CNC laser cut from a solid peice of aluminium!

All I have to do is buy him a beer on Friday afternoon after work, Bargain.







I will see if I can get some pics of the final product because you dont really get a good idea of what it will look like from these drawings.

Note, those measurements were wrong, they have been scaled to the nearest Millmetre.
__________________
|| photoshopchop.com ||
brasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 11:20 PM   #2
nasTone
PSC "I HAVE NO LIFE" MEMBER
 
nasTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Around
Posts: 554
nasTone is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Must be nice to have some extra time at work..... Are the lineweights always so "heavy" in Microstation? I am so used to using multiple layers all with their own colors in AutoCAD. Besides that, looks good. What kind of laser do you guys have? We just got a new Mitsubishi LV Series laser.
__________________
One of PSC's oldest active members, April 7, 2003

nasTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 11:29 PM   #3
brasher
*****
 
brasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,654
brasher is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to brasher
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nasTone
Must be nice to have some extra time at work..... Are the lineweights always so "heavy" in Microstation? I am so used to using multiple layers all with their own colors in AutoCAD. Besides that, looks good. What kind of laser do you guys have? We just got a new Mitsubishi LV Series laser.
Hehe, the lineweight was set at 2 for some reason, I couldnt be assed changing it because we work with that as default.

Im not sure what Laser CNC machine they have down there, but its a big one

Im told it can produce 900 330kV conductors per day for transmission lines.

It uses multiple lasers too, but I dont go down there much, to busy arguing with stupid field workers who cant follow plans
__________________
|| photoshopchop.com ||
brasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 11:53 PM   #4
hawk_196
PSC 1000 POSTS MEMBER
 
hawk_196's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,842
hawk_196 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

wow cnc laser. must be fancy. only laser cutter ive seen is a 2d one (and a weak one at that. can barely cut g10)

im not sure what im looking at cause I don't really know which view is which... but i can kinda understand whats what. looks to hold the thing at an angle and hold it up like a picture frame.

looks cool... just make sure you can get the thing in and out
__________________

This is a signature virus. Copy me into your signature and help me spread.
hawk_196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 12:23 AM   #5
nasTone
PSC "I HAVE NO LIFE" MEMBER
 
nasTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Around
Posts: 554
nasTone is an unknown quantity at this point
Default I Understand Totally Brash!

I dont go down there much, to busy arguing with stupid field workers who cant follow plans

I know that statement all too well. Using standard drafting principles on all of our drawings, they still don't have a clue on what is going on. I have been including 3d views on all of my designs now. That kind of helped the problem. What really gets them is GD&T, Surface finish symbols and Ordinate Dimensioning. It is great. LOL
I like getting the calls now to "come out to the production floor, we have a problem with your drawing." What they really mean is "We don't want to feel totally stupid, so could you do us a favor and explain the drawing to us?"
__________________
One of PSC's oldest active members, April 7, 2003

nasTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 01:46 AM   #6
hawk_196
PSC 1000 POSTS MEMBER
 
hawk_196's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,842
hawk_196 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

well maybe if it was set up as an orthographic. oh well. maybe its cause i'm confusing the dimensions with the lines.

I can kinda see it now and I could put it into 3d pretty quickly if you would like.
__________________

This is a signature virus. Copy me into your signature and help me spread.
hawk_196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sandisk Z400s 128 Gb 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive - Sata - 546 Mbps Maximum
$0.99
Sandisk Z400s 128 Gb 2.52017 Win10 pro on SSD Dell ultrabook Intel HD 4000 gaming + dual drive 350GB
$189.99
2017 Win10 pro on SSD Dell ultrabook Intel HD 4000 gaming + dual drive 350GB pictureORICO Aluminum 5.25 inch to 2.5" &3.5" Hard Drive Caddy Bay PC HDD SSD Bracket
$0.99
ORICO Aluminum 5.25 inch to 2.5Kingston - A400 120GB Internal SATA Solid State Drive for Laptops and Desktops
$43.0
Kingston - A400 120GB Internal SATA Solid State Drive for Laptops and Desktops pictureUSB 3.1 to SATA 3.0 Adapter Cable Connector for Up 2TB 2.5" 3.5" SSD Hard Drive
$5.49
USB 3.1 to SATA 3.0 Adapter Cable Connector for Up 2TB 2.5



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All rights reserved 2002-2008 Photoshopchop.com